Le Tour de France

Tour de France
map with regions of france

Introduction

The Tour de France started in 1903 and is the world's largest cycling race. The route covers a circuit around most of France and usually passes through one or more adjacent countries. The race is broken into stages from one town to another, each of which is an individual race in itself.
~ 2015 Schedule ~

The 2014 Tour de France will run from Saturday July7 5th to Sunday July 27th over 21 stages of cycling with 2 days of rest. It will include 9 flat or Plain stages, 5 hill stages, 6 mountain stages with 5 summit finishes, and 1 individual time-trial stages with the whole race covering a maximum of 2,272 miles or 3,656 kilometers.

General Info

The Tour de France, as with most cycling races, has competitors that enter as part of a team and the race consists of 20 to 22 teams with 9 riders each. Traditionally, entry to the race is by invitation only, with invitations granted only to the best of the world's professional teams. Each team, known by the name of its sponsor, wears a distinctive jersey for advertising and riders assist one another and have access to a shared team car for assistance with various needs or maintenance. The time each rider takes to complete each stage is accumulated. Riders are often awarded time bonuses as well as a prize for finishing. Riders who finish in the same group are awarded the same time. Two riders are said to have finished in the same group if there is less than the length of a bike between them. A rider who crashes in the last three kilometers is given the time of the group with which he would have finished. The ranking of riders is by accumulated time and is known as the General Classification. The overall winner is the fastest rider with the least accumulated time after the final stage into Paris.


Classification Jerseys

There are four different jerseys awarded for various classifications including:

* The maillot jaune or yellow jersey is worn by the general classification or overall time leader and is the most prized. It is calculated by adding the accumulated time up to that point for each rider, and the rider with the lowest total time is the leader and is declared the overall winner of the Tour at the end.

* The maillot vert or green jersey is awarded for sprint points and is worn by the leader in the sprint points competition. During the race at certain places, there are areas where the first person to pass them gets a certain number of points.

* The maillot à pois rouges or polka dot (white shirt with red dots) jersey is for the King of the Mountains which is calculated by points being awarded to the first rider to cross the top of designated hills and mountains. The greatest number of points are available for the most difficult ascents.

* The maillot blanc or white jersey is for the best young rider who is less than 25 years old on January 1st during the race year.

The leaders of each of the four competitions wear a distinctive jersey the next day. When a single rider is entitled to more than one jersey, he wears the most prestigious one and the second-placed rider in the other classification wears the jersey. The jerseys are awarded in a ceremony after each stage.

~ Official Website for the Tour de France ~

2015 Tour de France Schedule

3-D Fly-Over Video of 2015 Tour de France course on YouTube

Stage 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 - 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 - 17 18 19 20 21
Day Date Start Finish MILES KM
Saturday 4-Jul Utrecht Utrecht 9 13.8
Sunday 5-Jul Utrecht Zélande 103 166.0
Monday 6-Jul Anvers Huy 99 159.5
Tuesday 7-Jul Seraing Cambrai 139 223.5
Wednesday 8-Jul Arras Communauté Urbaine Amiens Métropole 118 189.5
Thursday 9-Jul Abbeville Le Havre 119 191.5
Friday 10-Jul Livarot Fougères 118 190.5
Saturday 11-Jul Rennes Mûr-de-Bretagne 113 181.5
Sunday 12-Jul Vannes Plumelec 17 28.0
Monday 13-Jul Pau Rest Day 0 0
Tuesday 14-Jul Tarbes La Pierre-Saint-Martin 104 167.0
Wednesday 15-Jul Pau Cauterets - Vallée de Saint-Savin 117 188.0
Thursday 16-Jul Lannemezan Plateau de Beille 121 195.0
Friday 17-Jul Muret Rodez 123 198.5
Saturday 18-Jul Rodez Mende 111 178.5
Sunday 19-Jul Mende Valence 114 183.0
Monday 20-Jul Bourg-de-Péage Gap 125 201
Tuesday 21-Jul Gap Rest Day 0 0
Wednesday 22-Jul Digne-les-Bains Pra Loup 100 161.0
Thursday 23-Jul Gap Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne 116 186.5
Friday 24-Jul Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne La Toussuire - Les Sybelles 86 138.0
Saturday 25-Jul Modane Valfréjus Alpe d'Huez 69 110.5
Sunday 26-Jul Sèvres - Grand Paris Seine Ouest Paris Champs-Élysées 68 109.5
Top of page